The Sawyer County Tactical Response Team (commonly referred to as SWAT) is trained to deal with any unusually dangerous or volatile situations. The SWAT team is a multi-jurisdictional team that consists of 16 members. The SWAT team is comprised of a team commander, two team leaders, two snipers, two negotiators, a K-9 and handler, TEMS (Tactical Emergency Medical Service) members, and several entry members.

Most common among such events are suicide threats with weapons, drug enforcement actions and high-risk warrants. Other high-risk situations include shots fired at persons, dwellings or vehicles; hostage situations; and subjects with guns, known or potential, threatening or demonstrating dangerous behavior.