Sawyer County Sheriff, Jail Division


Jail Main


The mission of the Sawyer County Jail is to protect the public through the constructive management of     offenders placed in its charge.
This mission will be accomplished in the following ways:

  • Provide levels of supervision and control consistent with the risk posed by the offender
  • Assure that the staff and offenders are safe
  • Assure that staff function professionally, honestly and with integrity
  • Provide for the humane and respectful treatment of offenders
  • Develop thought processes in offenders that reduce recidivism and victimization in offenders
  • Be accountable to the taxpayers through the efficient, effective, and innovative management of resources
  • Educate the public on what we do and how we do it


The Sawyer County Jail Division consists of the Sawyer County Jail Security Staff and the Administrative Section which includes the Jail Administrator, Court Officer, Huber Officer, and Jail Administrative Secretary.  Lieutenant Kurt Barthel has been the Jail Administrator since 18 April 1997.

The Huber Wing of the Sawyer County Jail was constructed in 1973 and has a designed capacity of 34 inmates.  The Secure wing was opened in January of 2007 and has a capacity of 49 inmates.  The total facility capacity at that time was 83 inmates. In 2009 the Huber Wing had two Dorms remodeled, adding six beds making the total capacity of the jail 89. The old wing will be used as a Huber wing and is restricted to housing Huber eligible inmates only. 


MapQuest Directions

15580 East Fifth Street                   
PO Box 567
Hayward WI 54843

Phone: 715-634-9120
Fax: 715-634-9748


Sunderland, Sonya
Henson, Jill
Hodgkinson, Edward (Jake)
Helwig, Marc
Brousard, Patrice
Pease, Ryan
Dilon, Amber
Carroll, Matthew
Willison, Diana
Wojcik, Matthew
Brazil, Jannifer
Gillis, Kevin

Court Officer
Sajdera, Joseph

Huber Officer
Thompson, Donna

Administrative Secretary
Braatz, Julie

Jail Receptionist
Amy Barkell

Part Time Jailers:
Metzinger, Frank
Knight, Ginger
Welsch, Dick
Frey, Nate
Woller, Mike
Amundson, Melissa